# # # #

General Information পিডিএফ প্রিন্ট ইমেইল

Bangladesh is a unitary and sovereign republic known as the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. It emerged as an independent nation on 26th March, 1971. This region was under Muslim rule for five and half centuries, since the 13th century; under British rule for two centuries, since 1757AD; and remained a province of Pakistan between 1947 and 1971.

President Md. Abdul Hamid is the head of state, and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is the head of government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.

The state language of Bangladesh is Bangla. The national anthem of Bangladesh comprises the first 10 lines of the song “Amar Sonar Bangla” by Rabindranath Tagore.

The emblem of the Republic is the flower Shapla (water lily, Nymphaea Nouchali) resting on the water, having on each side a sheaf of paddy surmounted between three connected leaves of jute, with two stars on each side of the leaves.

The Capital of the Republic is Dhaka. The currency is known as Taka (Tk.), divided into 100 Paisa. The citizens of Bangladesh are known as Bangladeshis. Local time is 6 hours ahead of GMT.

The National Flag

The National Flag is in bottle green and rectangular in size, with a red circle on the body of the green. The proportion of the length to width is 10:6. The red circle has a radius that’s one-fifth the length of the flag. Its center is placed on the intersecting point of the perpendicular drawn from the nine twentieth part of the length of the flag and the horizontal line drawn through the middle of its width. The background colour symbolizes the greenery of Bangladesh with its vitality and youthfulness, while the red disc represents the rising sun of independence after the dark night of a blood drenched struggle.

Home About Bangladesh General Information